Have You Had Open Heart Surgery or a Liver Transplant in the Last Few Years?
Have you received a letter from your hospital stating that you may have been exposed to a Mycobacterium chimaera infection?
Have you been diagnosed with a Mycobacterium chimaera infection?
If so, we should talk right now.
Article provided by: Kohn & Yager, LLC
The state of Georgia’s marijuana and drug laws remain one of the most conservative to date. In most parts of Georgia, possession of even less that one ounce of marijuana could get you arrested and charged to court. Depending on the specific quantity and other circumstances surrounding the case, you could be charged with possession, misdemeanor, or felony.
Often, the penalty attached to these crimes can have a lasting negative impact on your future. If you or anyone you know has been charged with a marijuana-related offense in Georgia, calling an experienced Georgia marijuana attorney would be the smartest thing to do.
How does Georgia marijuana laws define possession, misdemeanor, and felony?
Anyone can be arrested for possession of controlled substances if they had:
- Not more than 1 ounce of marijuana
- Marijuana stems or seeds
- Residue on a grinder used for cannabis
Possession of any of the above will be charged as a misdemeanor. However, the charge can quickly escalate to a felony if the law enforcement officers find additional evidence such as:
- Large amounts of money
- Individual packaging
These items often suggest the offender is a dealer or manufacturer and these crimes are felonies under Georgia weed laws.
What is the punishment for marijuana-related offenses in Georgia?
As the leading Georgia marijuana attorneys, we want clients to know what they’re up to if they are charged under the state’s punitive marijuana laws. Below is a summary of the Georgia laws and penalties for marijuana-related offenses
- Possession of not more than 1 ounce of cannabis in Georgia for personal use is a misdemeanor and punishable by a 1-year jail term and up to $1,000 fines.
- Possession of more than 1 ounce but less than 10 pounds will be charged as a felony. Felony charges are punishable by a 1- to a 10-year jail term and a maximum fine of $5,000.
- Possession of more than 10 pounds of marijuana in Georgia is considered trafficking.
- Punishment for sale or trafficking of marijuana in Georgia.
- The penalty for selling or trafficking not more than 10 pounds of marijuana in Georgia is a prison term of 1 to 10 years and fines of up to $5,000.
- The penalty for selling or trafficking 10 to 2,000 pounds of marijuana is between 5 to 30 years in jail, with fines up to $100,000.
- The penalty for selling or trafficking between 2,000 and 10,000 pounds of marijuana is a jail term of 7 to 30 years and fines up to $250,000.
- The penalty for trafficking more than 10,000 pounds of marijuana is a jail term of 15 to 30 years and fines up to $1,000,000.
- The penalty for possessing, selling, delivering, or cultivating marijuana within 1,000 feet of a school park is 5 to 40 years in jail and a $40,000 fine, regardless of the amount.
Contact the foremost Georgia marijuana lawyers
There is no overemphasizing the fact that Georgia weed laws are punitive and stringent. If you or anyone you know has been arrested for marijuana-related offenses in Georgia, do not hesitate to contact Kohn and Yager, Georgia’s leading marijuana attorneys. Call us for a free consultation on any of the following numbers: Sandy Springs Office/404) 567-5515, Downtown Atlanta/(404) 567-5515, Marietta Office/(770) 629-8620, Alpharetta Office/770) 629-9614. . You can also get in touch to know more about marijuana legality in Georgia.Georgia Marijuana
View Larger Map
We welcome your comments!
Accepting Cases from All U.S. States
YES, I want to to talk to you about my potential case. Please contact me.
Attorneys Marc Stewart and Jim Jackson have teamed up to bring you their unique knowledge and experience. Contact us today to see if you have a pursuable claim. Of course all work is FREE unless and until we obtaina settlement for you.